Posted by: mahlbrandt | June 5, 2009

Interior Design Itch!

In my six years as an adult (aka, married and not living with Mama and Daddy) this is the longest I have ever lived in one place – 2 years and 4 months so far! And I’m itching to do some interior design. The problem is, I’m stuck! I don’t want to redesign anything. I love the finished rooms just as they are. But I do have 2 rooms I can’t wait to get my hands on:

My office is occupied. As I mentioned in a previous post, we have some friends living with us and my office has been a guest room for the past 6 months. I can’t wait to get it back and redesign it. I’m not going to repaint or replace furniture but I have some rearranging, storage, and decor ideas. I also have in the back of my mind (ok, and occasionally in the front of my mind) that this room will one day function as a nursery. Can it be my office and nursery? Does that work? I’ve sketched it out on paper 10 different ways that will work but I wonder if it’s practical.

Our master bathroom needs a major overhaul involving taking down a wall, building 2 more walls for a tiled in shower, lots of tiling, some plumbing, a new sink cabinet … I’d love to get started but we need some moolah first! The good thing about having to be patient is that Jason and I have reworked the floorplan/design of the bathroom several times and thought about several different tile options and I think we’ve made some great progress.

floorplansw-notes

bathroominspirationboard

Current state of the bathroom:

IMG_5002IMG_5003

FYI, our master bathroom used to be a bedroom (9’x11′) so it is quite large and has wood floors. Our commode is in what I call  a “toilet closet.” We think it’s a complete waste of floorspace so we’ll be taking down those walls. Also the laundry area is housed in a former bedroom closet. We plan to close that off into a small “room” so we don’t have to have a curtain hanging in front of it. The door to the laundry room will probably be a folding translucent screen so the light from that window (1 of 2) will still come through. There is another window above the dog crate.


Responses

  1. Cool! Do you have at least one tub in your house? In a strictly function-for-your-future way, bathing children is REALLY difficult without a bathtub. :-)

    On your office being a nursery, I think it is totally possible, and practical. You can work while baby sleeps and you’re able to keep tabs on baby. Multitasking at it’s finest. Aaron didn’t even HAVE a bedroom until April or so… You might have to figure something different out once baby is a year or so old… napping/sleeping alone is best by that time.

    Oh I just thought of one more thing–once the potential of crib escape is there (like a year old and older) it would be wise to have the room the crib is in totally babyproofed. It is NOT fun to experience the heart-stopping moment when your kid comes toddling out of a room holding razor sharp scissors. (but everyone DOES, i think, at least once.)

    So… that is my 200 cents for today. I’m not an expert on all things baby, but I sometimes feel like I should be.

  2. Thanks for your advice, Susan!! You are definitely an expert! :)

  3. Hey Martina! Loved this post. We must have been on the same wavelength this week with our designer minds wandering. I too am itching for more rooms to create. Love your ideas for your bathroom! Just gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

