Posted by: mahlbrandt | June 22, 2009

Baptism by Water is just Step 1

I grew up much of my life at a Baptist church. I love the church and the Baptist church was an awesome foundation for my faith. I was baptized in Lake Erie when I was around 11 years old. But my church never talked about the other kinds of baptism. The Bible actually talks about THREE kinds of baptism. Here are some notes from a really great message I heard from one of my all-time favorite preachers, John Ragsdale, a few weeks ago. This sermon rocked my world, truly. So much so that I accidentally inhaled my gum.

Here are just a few notes if you don’t want to take the 45 minutes to listen to the message or watch the video. The notes are really scattered because I was only typing up things that I was wanting to remember for myself. Therefore, I highly recommend you listen for yourself if you thought the Bible only talks about 1 or 2 kinds of baptism!

Baptism by Fire, John Ragsdale 5/24/09

There are 3 Baptisms:
Baptism by water
Baptism of the Holy Spirit
Baptism by fire

There is a difference between the in-filling of the Holy Spirit and the baptism of the Holy Spirit.

You can be filled with the Holy Spirit and never be baptized with the Holy Spirit.

You can have Christ in you, the hope of glory; or you can be in Christ and be in the glory.

86x is the Bible it says “in Christ”. That’s most of what the Church cares about today is: “Have you accepted Jesus?” But how about asking this, “Have you been accepted into Jesus?” Because you can live life having Christ in you and never walking in your full potential. Or, you can get into Christ and find out there is a lot more living in this place than there was there!

I’ve got Christ in me. That’s wonderful! But where I’d rather be is IN CHRIST. Because Jesus said “If you abide in me and I abide in you, then you are going to produce fruit, that fruit is going to be abundant and that fruit is going to remain.”

I don’t know if you knew this or not but God is not really interested in revival, He’s interested in reformation!

There are 3, no 4 things that can never be satisfied (Proverbs)
1. a barren womb
2. the earth with no water
3. the grave
4. fire


Responses

  1. Martina, this is great. I will listen to/watch it later when I have the time.

    Your hunger for more of God inspires and challenges me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

