Posted by: mahlbrandt | April 24, 2008

List #12: Ingredients in My Specialty, Artichoke Tomato Pasta

If you don’t like artichokes, you can stop reading right now. In fact, you can stop coming to my blog altogether because I love them and we obviously have nothing in common. Anyway, if you saw my recipe for Super Easy Potato Soup, you may have noted that while easy, it is not quick. This recipe, however, is even easier (no onions or potatoes to peel and chop) and much faster (15 minutes rather than 1 hour.) Here are the ingredients:

1. Artichokes (can of quartered hearts)

2. Diced tomatoes (canned work best)

3. Garlic (lots of it…like 1-2 tablespoons)

4. Extra Virgin Olive Oil (approx. 1/3 cup)

5. Pesto (a large dollop) 

6. Sea Salt (to taste)

7. Fresh ground pepper (to taste)

8. Angel hair pasta (it’s fastest)

 

 

I put the olive oil in a large skillet with the garlic and pesto. I add the artichokes and cook for about 10 minutes. Then I start cooking the angel hair in boiling water and add the diced tomatoes to the mixture in the skillet with some salt and pepper. Heat for about 5 more minutes while the pasta is cooking. 

Simple, huh? I often make this when I’m cooking for myself. Jason likes it but he gets sick of it because I make it often. He’s not obsessed with artichokes like I am. If you feel adventurous you can add white wine (forgo or ease up on the olive oil…they don’t mix) or mushrooms or onions or whatever you want. If our plant was bigger I definitely would have added fresh basil, too. 

 


Responses

  1. mmm this looks good! almost like the “tuscan chicken” i’ve had at max and ermas…

    what kind of pesto do you use? is it canned…or …in a jar or what?

  2. I am currently using Classico pesto. It comes in a little glass jar.

  3. […] Chocolate (Lindt dark chocolate) Artichokes (on pasta, pizza, sandwiches or deep fried) Fire Cracker Maki Grapefruit (use a grapefruit spoon to remove […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

