Posted by: mahlbrandt | May 12, 2008

I couldn’t handle this movie

Warning: This is a sappy post.

I’ve often been asked in silly myspace surveys, “What is your greatest fear?” Spiders? Muggers? Getting Shot? Car accidents? Snakes? Public humiliations? No, there is nothing I am more afraid of than losing Jason. I can’t imagine anything more painful. Last night my parent’s leant us their recent Netflix, P.S. I Love You. My dad warned, “It’s a tear jerker” (although my mom disagreed.) I don’t know if I’ve ever cried so much throughout a movie. I’m thankful that Jason decided to watch it with me and is so sweet and sensitive. I half wished I hadn’t watched it because it wrecked me so much. But afterward, when I wasn’t done crying, I knew it was worth the emotional train wreck. Jason held me for what felt like 10 minutes, until I had no tears left and I was so filled with joy and gratitude that he is here. I hope I can love him and appreciate him everyday as if tomorrow is not guaranteed, because it’s not.

Warning #2: Expect more sappy posts to come in the next two months as we’re coming up to our 9-year anniversary of falling in love and our 5-year wedding anniversary.


Responses

  1. Do you think this is a common fear among married women, especially young marrieds? I know I struggle with it big time… I had a hard time with this movie as well. It was so hard, conflicting, terrifying, encouraging, etc.

    I’m glad Jason is so sensitive and knew what to do to comfort you!!!

  2. I’m not sure. I guess I’ve never talked to my other married friends about it. I found it a little odd that my mom didn’t think this was a tear-jerker (but my dad did.) Maybe it’s something that lessens as you get older, although I can’t imagine that.

  3. Ugh I’m not even married yet and I feel that way…Maybe the older you get the more you have to realize that one of you is going to leave before the other…and if you’ve had a long and experience-filled life together maybe it’s easier to accept that fact?….but maybe it’s harder and you try not to think about it anymore…

    woah I can’t believe it’s been 5 years!?! congrats!

  4. wow, 9 years and 5 years. that’s absolutely insane.

    i haven’t seen this movie…now i don’t think i ever want to.


Leave a Reply

Categories

