Posted by: mahlbrandt | May 30, 2008

Sleep is overrated.

I have to admit, I’m a little tired. Most importantly though, I’m finally starting to understand Jason’s attitude about sleep after all these years. When you’re passionate about your work, sleep is an unwanted interruption. Successful business people often only sleep 4 to 6 hours a night. It could be insomnia but maybe it’s because they’re dreading the end of the day; more can be accomplished, there are ideas that haven’t come to fruition yet. It can be obsessive, I realize. I hope I never become Martha Stewart—sleeping upright with a pen and pad in her hand. I’m blessed to be able to “turn off my brain” and fall asleep within minutes of my head hitting the pillow. I noticed the reason Jason has to watch TV to fall asleep is that his brain never shuts off; he has to distract himself to sleep. He never looks forward to sleeping. Lately I’ve been feeling the same way. Even when I’m tired it’s hard to desire sleep when there is so much I would love to do. And I will gladly sacrifice sleep for something I love and am passionate about.


Responses

  1. interesting…
    i also fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow. i am able to shut off all the crazy things and to do’s and want to do’s in my head just to take a break from it all…
    i guess that just means i’m lazy? 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

