Posted by: mahlbrandt | June 5, 2008

List #25: Why I Like Coming to Work Early

Technically, our office hours are 8:30 to 5:30 but as long as we work 8 hours-worth, my company is pretty flexible about when we come and go. Since I usually have no reason or interest in taking an hour lunch. I work 9:00-5:30. Lately, though I’ve been coming in at 7:30 or 8:00, usually to do freelance. Here are my reason’s why:

1. I am less distracted than if I do freelance at home before work

2. I get a (MUCH) better parking spot in the ramp

3. I don’t feel guilty eating my breakfast and making a cup of tea (like I do if I come in at 9:00 or 9:30.)

4. It’s quiet. Unless the managers are having an early morning meeting like they were today.

5. If I’m not working on freelance, like tomorrow morning, I get to leave at 4:00 or 4:30! And you know what that means…pool time! At least that’s my hope. It’s been a very busy week and I plan to reward myself tomorrow with some relaxation in the pool.

6. It feels good to get to work before your boss and leave work after he leaves


Responses

  1. yay! those are good reasons. but, i always get in before my boss does…sooo…

    i have to take a lunch, at least 1/2 hr, but they say i can leave at 430 if i do!! which is a plus. i also always make the coffee and my breakfast [and get a snack at 10am]…but, that’s ok. we all do it. it’s fun 🙂

    oh, and thanks for the reminder about the “baby” decorations. i added what i did to the blog!!

  2. 7:30!? I’m impressed!!! ; )


Leave a Reply

Categories

