Posted by: mahlbrandt | July 31, 2008

I’m getting a Gocco!!

I just bought a Gocco kit on eBay and I’m even so excited! I’m going to be printing my sister’s wedding invitations as my first big endeavor. The invitation itself will require 2 screens and some very specific registration. I’ll try to document the process as best as I can. Thankful I’ll have some help from my dear friend and fellow graphic designer, Renata, who is very experienced in Gocco Arts (she’s had her kit a little over a month…haha).

I’m sure most of you are wondering what the heck a Gocco is, just like I was when Renata was so excited about getting one a few months ago. It’s basically a compact Japanese screen print kit. I’ve never actual done screen printing so I can’t really say how similar it is. Every printed project requires it’s own screen(s) aka “print master”, 2 flash bulbs to burn each screen, and ink. Once you buy the Gocco itself, the cost per printed project (minus the paper) is only about $10 (average $3/master + $3/2 bulbs + $4 ink). Of course, there is a lot of time and labor involved (and that cost money!). All in all, though, I think it will help me keep my prices for wedding invitations competitive. Also, the materials to print on are only limited by what will fit on the press and to what the ink will stick.

The price of the Gocco itself? Well, lets just say it’s going to take several freelance jobs to make back that money. The Japanese manufacturer, Riso, conveniently decided to stop production of Gocco kits just about the time I discovered their awesomeness. By the time I had the moolah to order me one, all of the online retailers ran out of stock. EBay is now littered with them, selling for DOUBLE what I could have paid 6 weeks ago…if I had just listened to Renata. Ugh! No one really knew this would happen when it did. I’m just happy I scored one on eBay. If they start production again next month someone is gonna hear it from me!!

If you want to see some things that have been designed and printed with a Gocco, check out this Flickr group:
http://www.flickr.com/groups/gocco/pool/

If you want to watch a fun video of someone making wedding invitations (super fast) with a Gocco, check out this video:

And lastly if you want to watch a really boring but highly informative instruction video on Gocco (definitely filmed in the ’80s) here it is, in 2 parts:


Responses

  1. this is so cool! i can’t wait to learn about it – i’ll be anticipating. I think danielle might have one of these… or at least knows about it. I’m clueless but it seems so sweet!!

    how much is a kit?

  2. They *were* $150. Now, anywhere from $250 to $350 on eBay.

  3. I want one now! I’ll have to put it on my Christmas list. We’ll have to get together for a craft night and a gocco demo. 🙂

  4. hehhehe, I came here pretty sure I would find a gocco post! : ) It is awesome!!!!
    the gocco pro (hahhaha)


Leave a Reply

Categories

