Posted by: mahlbrandt | October 16, 2008

List #73: Craft Project: Scarf – From Conception to Delivery

I had an idea today. I was thinking about how it’s getting chilly outside and I wish I had a new scarf. A thin fall scarf, not a thick knitted one. A cotton, jersey scarf like Jason’s from Amerian Apparel. Then I had an epiphany. I could make one out of a T-shirt.

1. Concept. Draw out detailed plans on a sticky note because I forgot my journal at home today.

2. Double stitch around bottom of shirt. Double stitch 4″, 4 1/4″ and 8 1/1″ from bottom stitch.

3. Cut into strips. The edges will fray a little. Double stitching should help prevent that some. I’m not sure what will happen in the wash though…

4. Attach the two strips together. Double or triple stitch the other ends so prevent fraying.

5. It’s done! Style in front of a mirror for best results.

If I had a bigger shirt (hubby and I are both small) I would have made the strips wider than 4″. Maybe 6″ since the material rolls? Also a wider shirt would make a longer scarf. Overall I am pleased though. Especially since it took less than 1 hour to make!

I don’t think I have enough shirt left to make both mittens and a hat. Maybe another day I’ll give it a shot! That’s all for tonight. Tomorrow Jason and I are going to Atlanta for the day! It’s a 1 day vacation—the closest we’re going to get to celebrating our 5-year-anniversary with a trip (which was in June.)


Responses

  1. this is so cute – you need to make more of these and sell them and some of your other crafty things on etsy! seriously!!

  2. well done my super creative friend!!!!

  3. Thank you both for the encouragement! I plan to make some more. Maybe I will set up an etsy shop. I’ve thought about it but never too seriously.


Leave a Reply

Categories

