Posted by: mahlbrandt | December 15, 2008

List #85: My Favorite Logos

I’m going to pick apart the subtle nuances and/or clever design concepts that caused these logos to make my list. I apologize for anyone who finds it devaluing to the greatness of the logos to reveal the “ah ha!” moment.

1. FedEx
There is an arrow formed between the “E” and the “x” to show that it’s moving, on the go, etc. Don’t feel bad if you’ve never noticed this. I admit that I didn’t notice until it was pointed out to me. (Another reason I prefer FedEx to UPS.)

2. Baskin Robbins
This one I just discovered the other day driving past the BR in Franklin. Baskin Robbins is, of course, known for their 31 flavors. Notice the “31” in pink in the “BR”? So smart.

3. Jiffy Lube
It makes a “J.” It makes an “L.” It says “in and out” as in quick service. What more could you ask for?

4. Families
I had to throw in a Herb Lubalin just to show I know a little something from my design history classes. He’s my favorite classic. Need I explain this one?

5. Bear Naked
I don’t think this is super-duper-great but it’s smart. I think it’s self explanatory.

6. Staples.
The “L” is a staple. Coincidentally, I love Staples. (Here are 6 reasons why.)

I know there are more, I just can’t think of them right now… More on that later.

By the way, this post was partially inspired by KT’s post on Company Logo Smackdown.


Leave a Reply

Categories

