Posted by: mahlbrandt | December 30, 2008

List #87: What I Got for Christmas

100_5705
1. I got the revelation that Christmas is just as enjoyable WITHOUT all the shopping, wrapping, and pile of presents under the tree for unwrapping! (I still made these cute stockings this year and filled them with the traditional: burt’s bees, toothbrush, socks, gum, candy/mints.)

100_5685

2. I got to wake up late Christmas morning in my own bed, next to my sweet husband.

3. I got to give gifts to people who really are in need this year.

4. I got to watch Jason make salsa (I made the labels) as special homemade gifts for our families on Christmas. Also we learned together how to can.

100_5692

5. Jason and I bought ourselves a couple of small gifts this year, none of which was wrapped up for Christmas day: Seinfeld season 9 (to complete our set), new flannel sheets, a cell-phone case for Jason and some headbands for me. We surprised Lucy with a new Lammy!

100_56961

6. I got to spent way less money this year which allowed us to stay on track with our financial goals and retain our emergency savings (thank God, because we needed it this week!).

7. We did get a few gifts from our parents. (They couldn’t stick to the rules!) We got a box of food from Omaha Steaks, a night out to dinner and to see the Radio City Rockettes Christmas show, Lindt Lindor Extra Dark chocolate bars (Oh oh!) and some Pampered Chef cookware.

8. Some sweet friends gave us gifts too: a beautiful knit hat from my crafty graphic designer friend, some B&BW goodies from my favorite co-worker, an iTunes gift cert. from my boss (got some Brooke Fraser, NeedToBreathe, Alicia Keys and Rihanna) and a Portland Brew gift card from our “roommates.”

9. I got to host Christmas dinner at my house. I got to use Granny’s china for the first time. I made some yummy artichoke mashed potatoes (and sadly peeled off the top of my left index finger…it’s finally not hurting after 6 days.) I got to enjoy a mostly stress-free day even though we didn’t time the food very well. Everything was still delightful and no one complained about “lunch” being at 3:00 or some lukewarm casseroles.  🙂

100_5693

10. I got to spend the day with family who can all laugh and have fun together! We watched a Christmas Story (2-3 times) and Dan in Real Life on this huge TV.

100_5691

11. I got to start new traditions with my family. I hope that we can nurture the true spirit of giving—taking care of those in need—every year. And maybe the white elephant gift exchange will return next year!

100_5700100_5699100_5701


Leave a Reply

Categories

