Posted by: mahlbrandt | January 8, 2009

List #88: New Years Resolutions

Honestly, I’m not big on making resolutions. At least not the publicly declared kind. But I am big on making lists! I know it’s a little late but I thought I’d share these few new resolutions I’ve made and have been keeping so far!

1. Get more exercise, especially by walking Lucy. (She’s getting fat. See her silhouette?) We’ve taken a walk before work almost every day this week, even when I got up late for work.

fatlucysilhouette

2. Commit to 1 hour a day of freelance. Sometimes it’s 2 hours one day and none the next. It’s a general rule. So far so good. I’m working on a website that I’m really psyched about for a professional organizer called Suppress the Mess. I’m also finishing up the CD package design (an ecosleeve!!) for the very talented Devin Balram.

3. Memorize 2 verses a month (24 in a year.) I was inspired by this Beth Moore blog challenge. I’ve been wanting to memorize Psalm 103 because I recently discover that it’s wonderful. It has 22 verses so that’s what I’ll be memorizing most of the year. I do need to exercise my memory more, too…

4. Pray for 10 minutes a day, M-F. I know that doesn’t sound like much. I’m specifically challenging myself to 5 uninterrupted minutes 2 times a day. I’m typing it out in Google Docs to keep a record. At 10 am I get a reminder to take 5 to pray for my day. At 3 pm I get a reminder to take 5 to pray for Jason. So, far: AWESOME. I’ve already seen God answer very specific prayers.

5. Read more books. I haven’t actually started reading yet but I’ve compiled a list of recommend books for high schoolers. I’m going back and revisiting some books that I breezed through in HS just to pass the test and some that I never read and feel like I’m missing out on something. I’ll post the unabridged list another time.


Responses

  1. […] #90: Recommended High School Reading As I mentioned in this post, on of my commitments this year is to read more. I’m going to try out (and in some cases […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

