Posted by: mahlbrandt | January 15, 2009

List #91: Making a Simple Smoothie

photo-277

Making homemade fruit smoothies is one of the simple pleasures in my life and definitely one of my favorite things! Here’s how I make a simple smoothie:

1. Add about 1 cup of frozen fruit into a milkshake cup
Frozen fruit is found in the freezer section of the grocery store usually near the frozen vegetables but sometimes by the desserts and pies. It’s usually a small selection. I like Mixed Berry but there are many other choices.

2. Add sweetener
I would use local honey (good for allergies) if we had any. Since we don’t today I used sugar.

3. Add about 3/4 cup milk
You could also use yogurt for a thicker smoothie or chipped ice for a non-dairy option

4. Blend with a hand blender
I really love my Braun multi-purpose blender! It’s the best kitchen gadget ever.

5. Serve in a cup with a straw!
You just have to drink a smoothie through a straw. There is no other way!

This whole process takes me less than 5 minutes so it’s a great solution for a quick and healthy breakfast! There are tons of other ways to make smoothies. If you use fresh fruit, you’ll need to add ice or sherbet or something else to make it cold.


Responses

  1. We call those milkies! (A milky is a fruit milkshake made with frozen fruit and skim milk instead of fresh fruit and ice cream.)

    I suppose you can call it a smoothie if you want to. 🙂

    Milkies are a VERY good way to get your kids to eat/drink their fruit and milk. I used to make Ian a blueberry one with milk AND yogurt almost daily!

    Ian’s favorite is the mixed berry blend, as well.

  2. […] Republic of Tea Grapefruit Juice Passion Tea Lemonade Berry Smoothie Mountain […]

  3. […] they can be a bit pricey. So I decided to make my own. Hubs and I make smoothies at home all the time so this was a simple adaptation. I blended up a mix of way-too-many kinds of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

