Posted by: mahlbrandt | April 7, 2009

List #105: Brand Name Groceries

I buy a lot of groceries based on the lowest price whether that’s a generic, store-brand or sale. For example: bread, pasta, tortillas; meat; fruits & vegetables (canned, frozen or fresh); laundry, hand & dish soap; dryer sheets; flours, sugars; spices; milk, butter, cream, sour cream, cheese, eggs; and juice—I buy based on price. But there are just some things that Jason and I insist on getting brand name. Here’s my list:

• Capt. Crunch, Fruity Pebbles, Lucky Charms, etc.
• Quaker oatmeal
• Coke, Dr. Pepper, Mt. Dew, etc.
• Claussin pickles
• Philadelphia cream cheese
• Breyer’s Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup OR Ben & Jerry’s Dublin Mudslide ice cream(once in a while!)
• Heinz Ketsup (we’re from NW Pennsylvania!)
• Hidden Valley Ranch
• Cottonelle toilet paper

So, I’m wondering, what groceries to you insist on buying brand-name?


Responses

  1. I’m a with you on the ranch dressing for sure and the cereals. There really are no good substitutes. I also buy the name brand spaghetti sauce, since I haven’t made my own yet. And yoplait yogurt, blue bell chocolate covered cherry bars, coke zero, Pringles and Lays chips and Smart Balance peanut butter.

  2. Mmm, yes, I forgot speghetti sauce! Jason makes homemade sauce sometimes but otherwise we get Classico or Bertolli.

    Chocolate covered cherry bars sound good!

  3. You’ve got it right about nailed… only a couple differences: with kids I find it necessary to stick to one brand of detergent: Arm & Hammer Free

    I also can’t taste a *worththeextramoney* difference between store brand & philadelphia cream cheese. But Imostly bake with CC now, wedon’t eat it straight up much anymore & Ian doesn’t know the difference.

    Charmin
    Heinz
    Coke

    Yep, you got them!

    Oh… KRAFT mac & cheese, McCormick vanilla, CRISCO shortening, & NESTLE choc. chips.

    Anything else…anything goes.

  4. Oh yeah, I’m with you on the Kraft mac & cheese and Nestle chocolate chips too!

    Jason is a bagel & cream cheese fanatic so we can tell the difference between generic and Philly. I don’t think I could, though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

