Posted by: mahlbrandt | April 8, 2009

List #106: Backyard Farming

Around this time last year I posted a list of all the vegetables and herbs and fruit we had planted in our garden. The list is a bit different this year so I thought I’d share. We’re trying some new things. And as delicious as the watermelons were last summer, they were just too big! They require about 10′ x 30′  for what we had last summer (3 seeds/vines). Also, I started a Facebook page for our *Vegetable & Fruit SWAP*! Several of our family members and friends are also planting gardens this year so I thought it would be fun to see what everyone else is growing and maybe share some of our bounty. Let me know if you’d like to join!

Fruit:
peaches
raspberries
Herbs:
rosemary
thyme
basil
sage
lavender
tarragon
oregano
spearmint
cilantro
parsley
arugala
chives
green onions

Vegetables:
corn
okra (didn’t come up last year. thought we’d try again!)
lettuce
spinach
cubanelle peppers
banana peppers
roma tomatoes
Better Boy tomatoes
green bell peppers (didn’t come up from seed last year so we bought plants)
chili peppers
onions
cherry tomatoes (didn’t come up from seed last year so we bought a plant this year)

100_5915


Responses

  1. Oh I love it! If ONLY we had a place to do it! (very small, evergreen treed back yard…)

    Ian & Papa planted a container garden with sugar snap peas, though, and they’re coming along nicely.

    I love that you guys are so into gardening. It reminds me of my childhood…life on the farm!

  2. Thanks! I really can’t take much credit though. Jason does almost all of it! He prefers yard work (mowing, weeding, planting, watering) as rest & relaxation rather than watching TV or reading. I mostly just enjoy the fruits of his labor! 🙂 He’s teaching me how to distinguish weeds from seedlings so I can help out more. (Last summer I was spraying weeds and got a little carried away spraying some of his baby mondo grass seedings…)


Leave a Reply

Categories

