Posted by: mahlbrandt | April 17, 2009

The Cereal Box Toy that Keeps on Giving

100_5989

This little guy just made my day. I was attempting to balance the checkbook, sorting through some receipts and as I reached into the bill/reciept basket to pull out the calculator: there it was. Oh Jason! On a night when I’m missing my husband so much (has he really only been gone since yesterday morning?) to find this little stuffed toy makes me forget I’m alone—just for a second. We’ve been taking turns hiding it for each other to find in the house for months.

I can’t even remember all the places it’s been: a shoe, a purse, a cupboard in the kitchen, a coat pocket, a file cabinet… Sometimes it’s weeks before it’s found and re-hid. The longer it’s been, the more fun it is to find it! When we started the game our houseguest Jeremy was playing along, too. Whoever found it has to hide it again. That’s the only rule.


Leave a Reply

Categories

