Posted by: mahlbrandt | April 24, 2009

List #109: New Recipes

I’ve made some new recipes this week and I thought I’d share!

41095 1. Naan – Indian flatbread (kind of like pita bread)

I followed the recipe with the exception of cooking them on the grill. I broiled them in the oven instead. They came out thicker than I had hoped. Next time I’ll roll them flatter before I bake.

9005 2. Bruscetta – Italian tomato “salsa” on bread

I actually didn’t follow this recipe at all; just used it as a starting point. I had a can of diced tomatoes and I wanted to make up something to put on the naan. I drained the diced tomatoes, added salt, minced garlic, extra virgin oil oil and fresh arugala and chives from the garden (we don’t have mature basil … can you believe bruscetta without basil!?)

24684 3. Hummus (I used the recipe off the Publix garbanzo bean bag but this is close)

Again, I didn’t exactly follow this recipe, just used it as a starting point. I cooked the beans (which takes 2-3 hours) and blended them in our awesome blender with minced garlic, salt, lime juice and liquid (vinegar, salt & spices) from a jar of mild pickled banana peppers—rather than just using vinegar. Sprinkle paprika on top.

3464371262_d62834f878 4. Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

I haven’t made these yet but I will. Maybe tonight. I found this link via @daniellesuzanne‘s twitter.


Responses

  1. As soon as all of our cake is gone I’ll be making the PB cookies too. I saw them on Danielle’s twitter as well. 😉

    I think even Ian would really like Naan, maybe I’ll have to try that too!

    (…and well, we all know how I am about vegetables… Roger would like the other two!) I really wish we lived closer so we could share our culinary adventures in person!

  2. Come visit sometime!

  3. Hi,

    I would like to include your bruscetta dish in our “Grow Your Own” roundup this month! For information on how to enter, please go to

    http://chezannies.blogspot.com/2009/04/hosting-april-2009-grow-your-own.html

    Aloha, Nate

  4. […] Saturday afternoon while Jason was at a meeting I made the flourless peanut butter cookies I blogged about the other day and coffee cake. I also did laundry and paid the bills. Kind of a drowsy, rainy […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

