Posted by: mahlbrandt | May 18, 2009

List #111: Much to Be Thankful For

I realize my “lists” have been lacking creativity lately. I apologize. It has more to do with busyness than lack of ideas. And an inner battle of resistance. But that’s another story for another day.

I had an absolutely wonderful weekend and in reflecting this morning, I realize I have SO MUCH to be thankful for! Here are some highlights:

• Thursday night surprise party for my brother-in-law Dan. He’s been more than just a brother-in-law to me, he’s been a great friend for 10 years and it was fun to help Ginger do something really special for him. Dan is a huge fan of The Office and Thursday also happened to be the finale. Ginger went all out with a wonderful theme-party complete with themed food, Dundies and Office Olympics. Here are some pictures:

100_6107100_6116100_6098100_6120100_6112100_6125100_6129100_6130

• Friday evening I got together with Laura to plan a baby shower for our friend Renata. It’s in 3 weeks and I can’t wait. Best of all – Renata and Sean are back from Brazil TODAY and are in Nashville for 3 weeks. Can’t wait to see her!!

• Dinner at Cinco de Mayo with Jeremy and Leila. (Do I say this every weekend?) Despite my push to try somewhere new and several suggestions we still ended up at Nashville’s #1 Mexican restaurant. Never a disappointment. Afterward, we went to Dairy Queen (Bobby’s Dairy Dip was closed). Seriously – I hadn’t been to DQ in 6 years. They didn’t empty out the soft serve into a “poop cup” before serving it so Jason got the soggy cone. 😦

TN 52 Yard Sale Extravagganza on (wet) Saturday morning with Jason’s mom. Jason and I scored some great deals on a few vintage pieces – an end table, a canister set, a suitcase (for computer bag), a pitcher… Photos Tk later this week. I promise!

• Dinner Saturday night at the Rose Pepper with my mom and 2 aunts visiting from PA and CA. (not as good as Cinco.)
• After our second dose of Mexican in 24 hours, we walked across the street to Ugly Mugs for some hot drinks and live music courtesy of some guy playing guitar & singing (can’t remember his name but he was good! sounded like jon mclaughlin) and our friend Jeff playing percussion. Saw a bunch of Jason’s co-workers there so it was an especially fun time!
• Made potato salad and had some friends over for a visit. Passed out on the couch. (We didn’t get much sleep Friday night!)
• Sunday church was awesome as always. I am endlessly thankful for Pastor Lindell Cooley and Grace Church. I’ve grown so much spiritually in the past 2 years — more than I ever have an any typical church.
• Sunday afternoon graduation party cookout for Leila at Dan & Ginger’s house. Very fun afternoon full of dogs: L&J’s Maggie, D&J’s Marty, and our Coco and Lucy all got together for the first time; full of kids: I held the sweetest 7 mo. old little girl Latia for 30-40 minutes and helped 2 year old brainiac Max color with markers and helped/watched the 5 other kiddos play with the dogs without getting run over (not sure if this makes me want babies more or helps me be patient!); visited with some good friends—old and new! and of course, lots of yummy foods (including 2 cakes and a pie; one of which—an oreo cake—Lucy got a chunk of … twice! I can’t say I blame her. It was delicious!)
• And finally, passed out peacefully on the couch for the second day in a row, this time watching British version of The Office with Jase, L & J. At one point, after I had falled asleep Jason said, “One more?” As in, wanna watch one more episode? I must have been dreaming about the cookout because I thought it was Dan asking if I wanted one more hotdog … hahaha!

Responses

  1. […] A new friend. I mentioned a few weeks ago that we heard him play at Ugly Mugs and really enjoyed his music but I had […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

