Posted by: mahlbrandt | May 23, 2009

Be careful what you ask Him for

Psalm 103:8
The Lord is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in love.

When I started memorizing that verse last month, I thought – wow! wouldn’t it be great to be like that? So that’s been my heart cry for weeks now. The timing couldn’t have been better. And He knew it. As I pleaded with the Lord to help me be more compassionate, gracious, slow to anger and abounding in love; He’s given me ample opportunities to practice.

Since the beginning of May we’ve opened up our home to our friends (who are rehabing a house) for a second season. The first season: 3 months from mid-December through mid-March was very challenging for me. It was more painful that I had anticipated to willingly offer up a portion of our home and then to feel like we’ve been striped of certain freedoms, taken advantage of in some ways and had personal boundaries crossed.

Don’t get me wrong – we love our friends dearly and we’re so blessed to even have a room and a bathroom we can offer them. I’m just saying it’s harder than I thought it would be. When you tell someone to “Make yourself at home” you need to be prepared for them to start treating your home like it’s theirs. It can be difficult not to feel intruded upon – and yet we offered, we were generous, we welcomed them in – so why feel so defensive?

Can anyone relate? Is it just me? I know God is using this experience to teach me so much about COMPASSION, GRACE, PATIENCE and ABOUNDING LOVE. More than once I’ve had to stop and take a deep breathe and whisper to myself “compassionate…gracious…slow to anger…abounding in love.” I’m so thankful for a God that is so good, so faithful, so loving, so patient with me.

Be careful what you ask Him for. 😉


Responses

  1. I do know what you mean.

    we’re actually going to be housing brian’s brother in a few weeks for 2 months, and i’m freaking out. we only have one bathroom and one living space, so it’s going to be a very difficult and seemingly invasive 2 months. I pray God grants me these qualities, because I’m going to need them. I know it will be great too, but I worry about my own selfishness in this type of situation because I can be very territorial about my space.

    also – i never responded to your comment where you told me you were so proud of me and happy for me in a blog, and so – thank you, that meant the world to me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

